The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

The faculties’ honorary doctors for 2023

The faculties have now presented their honorary doctors for 2023 and there are many well-known names among the recipients such as Johannes Anyuru, Timbuktu (Jason Diakité), Rita Charon, Mimi Abramovitz and Jan Dohnt.

The honorary doctors will be honoured at the doctoral degree conferment ceremony on 26 May.

See the full list and visit the relevant faculty website to see if/when there are special related lectures. (in Swdish).

Faculty of Theology

Johannes Anyuru, author and poet.

Christine Hayes, professor of religious studies in classical Judaica at Yale University in the USA.

Article about the Faculty of Theology’s honorary doctors on the faculty website (in Swedish).

Faculty of Humanities

Jason Diakité, artist and author. He has worked as an artist under the name Timbuktu since the early 1990s.

Article about Jason Diakité on the faculty website (in Swedish).

Fredrik Tersmeden, archivist at Lund University, multifaceted author and well-known figure in Lund.

Article about Fredrik Tersmeden on the faculty website (in Swedish).

Faculty of Law

Helle Krunke, professor of constitutional law at the University of Copenhagen, where she is head of the university’s Centre for European and Comparative Legal Studies.

Erik Sjöman, lawyer and partner at the law firm, Vinge, in Malmö.

Article about the Faculty of Law’s honorary doctors on the faculty website:
Internationally renowned professor and prominent lawyer appointed honorary doctors (

Faculty of Medicine

Rita Charon heads the Department of Medical Humanities and Ethics and is professor of medicine at Columbia University.

David Julius, professor of physiology at the University of California, San Francisco. Nobel Prize-winner in 2021.

Article about the Faculty of Medicine’s honorary doctors on the faculty website

Faculty of Engineering

Yasemin Arhan Modéer, entrepreneur and businessman. CEO of Altitude Meetings and chair of the board for Barnfonden.

Ikhlaq Sidhu, professor and dean of the School of Science and Technology, IE University in Madrid.

Ulla Vogel, professor and head of Nanotoxicology and Occupational Hygiene at Det Nationale Forskningscenter for Arbejdsmiljø in Copenhagen.

Article about the Faculty of Engineering’s honorary doctors on the faculty website: LTH awards three new honorary doctorates

Faculty of Social Sciences

Mimi Abramovitz, professor of social work at the City University of New York.

Leonie Huddy, professor of political psychology at the State University of New York in Stony Brook.

Article about the Faculty of Social Sciences’ honorary doctors: Honorary doctors 2023 | Faculty of Social Sciences (

School of Economics and Management

Anne McCants holds the Ann F. Friedlaender professorship in history at MIT.

Helga Nowotny, professor emeritus in sociology at ETH Zurich.

Article about the School of Economics and Management’s honorary doctors: New honorary doctors: Strong research profiles in Economic history and Sociology | Lund University School of Economics and Management

Faculty of Science

Jan Dhont, professor at Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf and active at the institute, Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Article about Jan Dhont on the faculty website: Colloid chemist is new honorary doctor of science | Faculty of Science (