Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.


Lund University has been a member of the League of European Research Universities, LERU since 2004. From 2017 the University of Copenhagen and Trinity College Dublin became members of LERU from 2017. LERU membership is one of the cornerstones of the University’s strategy for international contacts and collaborations.

See all LERU member universities here:

LERU articulates the universities’ interests to EU politicians

LERU's two main objectives are policy development and lobbying in research and higher education issues, and the exchange of experience and good practice. Policy development and lobbying are primarily done against the EU Commission and its sub-bodies. LERU highlights the research-intensive universities’ interests to EU politicians and others in power at the EU level. As a lobbying organization and representatives of European research universities, LERU is successful. LERU membership is one of the cornerstones of the university's strategy for international contacts and collaborations.

LERU Rectors' Assembly

The rectors of the member universities convene twice a year in the "Rectors' Assembly". This is LERU's highest authority within LERU. Lund University is represented by Rector Torbjörn von Schantz. Next Rectors' Assembly is May 15-16 2020 at the University of Copenhagen. Currently, it is Jean Chambaz, Rector of Sorbonne University, who is the Chairman.

LERU Groups

LERU organizes its activities mainly in approximately 25-30 more or less permanent working groups, which consist of representatives from the member universities. A LERU group is established with the aim of working with LERU policy within a specific subject area or with a specific issue. LERU Policy Groups and LERU Network Groups are permanent, while LERU Thematic Groups and LERU Ad-hod / Expert Groups are established on a more temporary basis. Lund University participates in the work in the majority of the groups. See information about the LERU groups on the LERU web site:

LERU Policy Groups are responsible for policy development in issues concerning research and higher education. LERU organises the following Policy Groups: 

  1. LERU Research Policy Group  
  2. LERU Information & Open access Policy Group
  3. LERU Doctoral Studies Policy Group
  4. LERU Enterprise & Innovation Policy Group
  5. LERU European Research Project Managers Policy Group
  6. LERU Natural Sciences Policy Group
  7. LERU Biomedicine & Life Sciences Policy Group
  8. LERU Learning & Teaching Policy Group
  9. LERU Social Sciences & Humanities Policy Group

LERU Thematic Groups

LERU Thematic Groups provide documentation on a current and relevant issue to be presented to the EU. All groups are to be approved by the vice-chancellors. Current LERU Thematic Groups are:

  1. LERU Law Thematic Group
  2. LERU Integrity Thematic Group
  3. LERU Crime & Social Control Thematic Group
  4. LERU Digital Education Group
  5. LERU Thematic Group Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
  6. LERU Ethics Thematic Group
  7. LERU Theology & Religious Studies Thematic Group
  8. LERU Philantrophy Thematic Group
  9. LERU Research Careers & HR Thematic Group
  10. LERU Alumni Thematic Group

See also:

LERU Publications on research and higher education

LERU produces various types of publications on topics involving research and higher education which constitute an important basis for LERU's lobbying work. These LERU publications are policies, positions and recommendations, such as research funding, research infrastructure and academic career paths that Lund University supports.The LERU publications are written, circulated and anchored at the member university via LERU's. LERU papers are also presented as policies and recommendations for their own member universities and other research universities in Europe. LERU papers are approved for publication by the Rectors at the LERU Rectors' Assembly. See all LERU publications here:

LERU Doctoral Summer School

A LERU Doctoral Summer School that addresses a specific topic is organised every year. The hosting of the summer school rotates among the member universities. Generally, two or three doctoral students from each university participate. Read more on Lund University's LERU Blogg

LERU Office

LERU's operations are coordinated and communicated from LERU's office situated in Leuven, Belgium, "LERU Office".

Contact person at each member university

At each LERU university there is a contact person who coordinates the LERU work, so-called. "LERU Senior Officer". At Lund University, Cecilia Gagné is the contact person for LERU.

Read more about the network at the LERU website

Page Manager:

Telephone: +46 (0)46-222 00 00 (switchboard)
Mailing adress: Box 117, 221 00 Lund, Sweden
Invoice adress: Box 188, 221 00 Lund, Sweden
Organisation number: 202100-3211

Site manager: staffpages [at] lu [dot] se

About this website