The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.



Lund University has been a member of the League of European Research Universities, LERU since 2004. From 2017 the University of Copenhagen and Trinity College Dublin became members of LERU from 2017. LERU membership is one of the cornerstones of the University’s strategy for international contacts and collaborations.

LERU articulates the universities’ interests to EU politicians

LERU's two main objectives are policy development and lobbying in research and higher education issues, and the exchange of experience and good practice. Policy development and lobbying are primarily done against the EU Commission and its sub-bodies. LERU highlights the research-intensive universities’ interests to EU politicians and others in power at the EU level. As a lobbying organization and representatives of European research universities, LERU is successful. LERU membership is one of the cornerstones of the university's strategy for international contacts and collaborations.

See all LERU member universities

LERU Rectors' Assembly

Lund University is from January 1st 2121 represented by Rector Erik Renström. In the spring 2021 the Rectors’ Assembly is taking part on May 21-22 with Sorbonne University as host.

LERU Groups

LERU organizes its activities mainly in approximately 25-30 more or less permanent working groups, which consist of representatives from the member universities. A LERU group is established with the aim of working with LERU policy within a specific subject area or with a specific issue. LERU Policy Groups and LERU Network Groups are permanent, while LERU Thematic Groups and LERU Ad-hod / Expert Groups are established on a more temporary basis. Lund University participates in the work in the majority of the groups.

See information about the LERU groups on the LERU web site:

LERU Policy Groups are responsible for policy development in issues concerning research and higher education. LERU organises the following Policy Groups: 

  1. LERU Research Policy Group
  2. LERU Enterprise & Innovation Policy Group
  3. LERU Research Integrity Policy Group
  4. LERU Biomedicine Policy Group
  5. LERU European Research Managers Policy Group 
  6. LERU Information & Open Access Policy Group
  7. LERU Natural Sciences Policy Group
  8. LERU Social Sciences & Humanities Policy Group 
  9. LERU Doctoral Studies Policy Group
  10. LERU Learning & Teaching Policy Group 
  11. LERU Research Careers and HR Policy Group
  12. LERU Digital Education Policy Group
  13. LERU Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Policy Group

LERU Thematic Groups

LERU Thematic Groups provide documentation on a current and relevant issue to be presented to the EU. All groups are to be approved by the vice-chancellors. Current LERU Thematic Groups are:

  1.     LERU Law Thematic Group
  2.     LERU Crime & Social Control Thematic Group
  3.     LERU Ethics Thematic Group
  4.     LERU Theology & Religious Studies Thematic Group
  5.     LERU Philantrophy Thematic Group
  6.     LERU Alumni Thematic Group

LERU Publications on research and higher education

LERU produces various types of publications on topics involving research and higher education which constitute an important basis for LERU's lobbying work. These LERU publications are policies, positions and recommendations, such as research funding, research infrastructure and academic career paths that Lund University supports.The LERU publications are written, circulated and anchored at the member university via LERU's. LERU papers are also presented as policies and recommendations for their own member universities and other research universities in Europe. LERU papers are approved for publication by the Rectors at the LERU Rectors' Assembly.

LERU Doctoral Summer School

A LERU Doctoral Summer School that addresses a specific topic is organised every year. The hosting of the summer school rotates among the member universities. Generally, two or three doctoral students from each university participate.

LERU Office

LERU's operations are coordinated and communicated from LERU's office situated in Leuven, Belgium, "LERU Office".

Contact person at each member university

At each LERU university there is a contact person who coordinates the LERU work, so-called. "LERU Senior Officer". At Lund University, Cecilia Gagné is the contact person for LERU.

LERU Doctoral Summer School 4-8 July 2023, Heidelberg University

The theme of the summer school is "Concepts of intervention science applied to global challenges".

Deadline for application Tuesday 21 March.

If you have questions, please contact Cecilia Gagné cecilia [dot] gagne [at] fs [dot] lu [dot] se

Announcement with information about the application process

Description and draft program of the LERU Doctoral Summer School 4 – 8 July 2023  

About League of European Research Universities LERU

About LERU members – 23 European leading research-intensive universities


Cecilia Gagné
International officer
+46 46 222 30 32
cecilia [dot] gagne [at] fs [dot] lu [dot] se