Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.
You are here

Research Board

In 2012, a central university research board was established in accordance with the rules of procedure for Lund University.

Remit of the Research Board

The Research Board is to “deal with strategic research matters where a decision at faculty level is inappropriate owing to their university-wide nature. The Board has particular responsibility for facilitating and supporting the University’s cross-disciplinary research. The Board processes matters of research strategy on which the University Board or Vice-Chancellor are to decide".

“The Research Board is first and foremost a preparatory and advisory body, although the Vice-Chancellor may delegate decisions on certain issues to the Board.”

The organisation and composition of the Research Board are laid down in the rules of procedure.

More information about the Research Board’s remit, in Swedish (PDF 368 kB, new window)

Members of the Research Board

The term of office for the members of the Research Board is three years, 2 February 2018–31 January 2021.


Pro Vice-Chancellor Stacey Sörensen


Faculty representatives 
School of Economics and Management: Professor Mats Benner
Faculties of Humanities and Theology: Pro-Dean Barbara Törnquist-Plewa
Faculty of Law: Pro-Dean Xavier Groussot
Faculty of Fine and Performing Arts: Professor Karin Johansson
Faculty of Engineering: Vice-Dean Erik Swietlicki
Faculty of Medicine: Dean Erik Renström
Faculty of Science: Dean Sven Lidin
Faculty of Social Sciences: Pro-Dean Anna Meeuwisse
Specialised centres (USV): Professor Per Mickwitz

Student representatives
Representatives are appointed for one academic year by Lund University Students’ Unions (LUS).

Representatives of staff organisations with the right to attend meetings, speak and put forward proposals 
SACO-s: Fredrik Edman
Fackförbundet ST: Kjell Nilsson

Representative of university central administration with the right to attend meetings, speak and put forward proposals:
Head of the Research, External Engagement and Innovation Division: Jesper Falkheimer

Representative of the Lund University Library with the right to attend meetings, speak and put forward proposals:
Library manager: Eva Nylander

Research Board secretary:
Research Services: Tina Trollås

Page Manager:


Tina Trollås
Forskningshandläggare, Forskningsservice
+46 46 222 77 45
tina [dot] trollas [at] fs [dot] lu [dot] se

Meetings of the Research Board

Spring 2020

20 January
10 February
17 March  
3 April (NB 9.00 – 12.00)
11 May  
15 June

Autumn 2020

11 September (NB 9.00 – 12.00)
12 oktober
9 november 
14 december 

Scheduled time is 13-16 for all dates except otherwise stated.

Minutes and summonses (in Swedish)

Telephone: +46 (0)46-222 00 00 (switchboard)
Mailing adress: Box 117, 221 00 Lund, Sweden
Invoice adress: Box 188, 221 00 Lund, Sweden
Organisation number: 202100-3211

Site manager: staffpages [at] lu [dot] se

About this website